Ebb and Flow

Satellite Beach, FL
April 24, 2013

This piece explores the ebb and flow of relationships, our comings and going in each others lives, and the meditative (yet transformative) power of these cycles.  The photographer for this piece was my good friend Amy.  This was the last day I saw her before she moved to the D.C. area.  Here we are:

IMGP7795

But who is the photographer here?  A dear friend of Amy’s (and now mine), Marlowe.  Here they are:

IMGP7805

I have been very sad that Amy won’t be within driving distance, but I’m embracing our parting as part of something bigger.  I’m practicing surrender and acceptance of this coming and going of closeness by connecting myself to the ebb and flow of the ocean.

IMGP7837

 

This beach also has significance as a place I have travel to and away from since my childhood.

IMGP7815

 

I am also getting ready to move away.  I am learning to peacefully leave this place knowing that I may return.

IMGP7823

 

Why orange?
“Yellow and red were compared to light and fire, spirituality and sensuality, seemingly opposite but really complementary. Out of the interaction between the two came orange, the colour of transformation.” -Eva Heller, Psychologie de la couleur: effets et symboliques, pp. 155–56.

IMGP7819

 

IMGP7832

IMGP7842

IMGP7885

IMGP7894

IMGP7896

IMGP7813

Leave a Reply

