The Arts-based Community Development Ecosystem of Tallahassee, Florida

This mapping exercise raised my awareness about arts-based organizations/programs/activities in my community.  I discovered that Tallahassee is rich in ways to nurture and heal through the arts, but lacking in the “Inspire and Mobilize” category.  I discovered that the local colleges and the state government are the cultural hubs around which many organizations are oriented.  The address of the Council on Arts and Culture’s website “morethanyouthought.com” is a rather accurate descriptor.  There is way more art and culture than I thought in Tallahassee.

I would like to explore the Arts in Medicine Program at my local hospital and learn more about the Gaines Street Urban Plan.  I lived near Gaines Street while I was an undergrad at Florida State University, and though it had a definite cultural flair, it felt unsafe and dirty.  I’m excited to see how the city addresses those problems.

Areas missing from this chart are Arts & Globalization, Arts-based Community Organizing, and Public Housing Arts.  If you know of an organization I’m leaving out, please help me fill in these blanks!

The Arts-based Community Development Ecosystem  of Tallahassee, Florida

Click here for the pdf: The Arts-based Community Development Ecosystem of Tallahassee, Florida

Leave a Reply

