Research Methods or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (that might blow my brain to bits)

(Disclaimer:  This post has nothing to do with Dr. Strangelove or the impending Cold War II.)

The things we love can hurt us the most.  In my case, it’s the love of knowing everything in the world that’s going to do me in.  Sometimes I’m a super annoying know-it-all, the kind that can’t let other people be wrong, like Hermione in the early Harry Potter novels.

Please, please, PLEASE call on me so I can save everyone from the falseness of your previous statement!
Please, please, PLEASE call on me so I can save everyone from the falseness of your previous statement!

And sometimes I just really want to learn all the things. (Thank you, Allie Brosh for one of the most useful expressions of our time.)

When I’m at my worst, I’m all about KNOWING everything.  You know, being smarter and better than everyone.  It’s probably one of my most unattractive qualities.  When I’m at my best, it’s not about the knowing.  It’s about the learning.  It’s about conquest, challenges, discovery, exploration.  It’s about “TO INFINITY AND BEYOND!”  Which sounds a heck of a lot cooler than “LET’S DO SOME RESEARCH!”
Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 10.35.09 PM

But research we shall!  I’ve just started ARE6746, the robot name for a Research Methods class in the Masters of Art Education program at the University of Florida. (Bleh…what a mouthful…)  From now on, this program will just be known as UFARTED.
Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 10.58.17 PM

I’m going to shoot straight with you.  I’m terrified.  I’m the kind of gold-star earning, sticker-chart keeping, color-coded note-taking dork that usually stares down challenging coursework while gleefully stroking my (hopefully) invisible beard and murmuring “Myesss, myesss”.
Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 11.25.23 PM
Not this time, folks.  I just created twenty new computer folders to help me organize this bad boy of a class, and I don’t feel much more prepared than I did an hour ago.  This journey is going to be difficult.  I must strive for much more than gold stars.  I’ve got to do some very real grappling with art education.  It’s dangerous to go alone, so  I’M TAKING YOU WITH ME.

Stay tuned to find out if my brain will explode or if it will simply swell into a learning, bleeding, throbbing chunk of grey and white matter.
LET RESEARCH METHODS BEGIN!

Leave a Reply

