Dr. Tillander is Smiling on the Inside

After our first online meeting in Research Methods, one my classmates and I clung to each other for support (virtually, of course) via a flurry of Facebook messages.  We vowed to be each other’s CFFs (Critical Friends Forever) and helped strengthen each other’s research questions.  I dissolved into lunacy at this remark from my CFF:

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 1.11.53 AM
DR. TILLANDER, THAT’S WHO.

 Dr. Michelle Tillander said she’s been told that her smiling face looks unnatural, something with which I totally relate.  I tried to smile reassuringly at a student’s drawing today…you know, getting all that rapport-building non-verbal communication on…and they looked like they were going to cry.
“Ms. Horak, What’s wrong with it?!?!”
“Nothing!  I like the direction you’ve chosen!  Keep up the good work!” *SMILE! :)*
“But you look like there’s something wrong with it…”
“No, it’s great!  That color was a strong choice!” *SUPER SELF-CONSCIOUS FORCED SMILE! :?*
“Ms. Horak…are…are you okay?”
*le sigh*

I do have a touch of the crazy eyes.

Crazy Eyes Horak
Crazy Eyes Horak
I've decided this manic smiley face is actually just my grad school game face.
I’ve decided this manic smiley face is actually just my grad school game face.

A million thanks to Dr. Tillander for being the first professor I’ve actually SEEN via Adobe Connect!  I really appreciated being able to assign the name a face, even if we’re both only smiling on the inside. 🙂

One thought on “Dr. Tillander is Smiling on the Inside”

Leave a Reply

